Home > All Mercertown Blog Posts > PROPOSED BAN ON CELL PHONE USE

PROPOSED BAN ON CELL PHONE USE

Several days ago, the government announced a possible ban of hand-held cell phone use while driving a commercial truck. This ban is proposed just shortly after banning texting and driving in all commercial trucks as well.

We all get frustrated with drivers that are using their cell phones, and not paying attention to the road ahead. Especially when their speed fluctuates, they change lanes without signals, etc. This distraction is especially dangerous in a truck/trailer that weighs in at 80,000 pounds.

I don’t have too much of an issue with the proposed ban. Most of you probably already have a hands free headset for your cell phone. I just hope that like the texting ban, this new proposal will also soon be enforced with all drivers. It is unfair to think that commercial truck drivers are the only drivers capable of being distracted by a hand-held device.  Four-wheeler drivers are just as dangerous with them as well.

This ban would impact Mercer’s business somewhat, because your next load is only a cell phone call away.  Your coordinator calls you several times a day, mostly while you are driving.  If this ban goes into effect, it will force all of you to purchase a hands free device.

I have not been in this business as long as most of you that drive for Mercer.  In my 9 years here, I can see many changes in this industry in such a short time.  I can also see many more changes to come.  While some of these changes are for the better (safer).  I think that some are a bit excessive.  I hear all of the time that trucking just isn’t fun anymore, and it bothers me.  I love working for Mercer, and love my job.  I hope that you all can still find some fun in this profession.  We appreciate you, and your hard work.  Hopefully, they won’t ban coffee cups next!  🙂  Have a great day everyone.  GO MERCER!

  1. Sandy
    December 21, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I certainly agree the ban should cover everyone, not just big trucks. 4 wheelers can cause accidents when the driver is on the phone as well and have done so many times.

    If anyone is looking for a good headset that filters out noise and can be heard over the engine noise-look at the Blue Parrott headsets. I found one for DH on Amazon at a decent price.

    • Cory Sinyard
      December 21, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      Blue Parrott by far the best for loud trucks hands down !!!
      Jason dont give em any ideas on the coffee cups LOL.

  2. Bill vanderlinden
    December 21, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I have a Blue Parrott it workes grate i love it

  3. Martin Rea
    December 21, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I agree that no one should talk on a phone without a hands free headset. My question is where do we as a people draw the line to govermental involvement in our lives. I don’t need them to save me from myself.

    • Sandy
      December 22, 2010 at 8:27 am

      I agree, Martin. But haven’t you seen those moronic people reading newspapers, surfing the ‘net, putting on make up, and doing other things BESIDES talking on a cell phone while driving? It seems like those people NEED someone to tell them their habits are going to cause an accident. You and I may not need that, but it seems they do. Wouldn’t it be nice when our congress can concern themselves with more important things than trying to keep people from hurting themselves and others with the stupid things they do?

  4. Neil
    December 23, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Jason,could you repeat that,i didn’t hear you,i’m on hold! (LOL!) Merry Chrictmas dude!

  5. paullangley
    December 27, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    wonder where all these rules will stop–wonder if sneezing while driving has been outlawed yet?

  6. john
    January 1, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Ilove what i do for a living,mercer is helping me achive my goals for my future keep me updated on these things Jason,please dont let them ban coffee cups

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

