Home > All Mercertown Blog Posts > OPERATION SAFE DRIVER

OPERATION SAFE DRIVER

Enforcement across the nation will be cracking down on aggressive drivers during October 17-23.  Operation Safe Driver, which is organized by the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, will be in full effect to reduce commercial motor vehicle-related deaths.

Operation Safe Driver focuses on distracted driving and unsafe maneuvers that could lead to fatal crashes.  Enforcement will focus on passenger vehicles as well as commercial vehicles during this time frame.

Remember to stay focused on the road ahead, and keep your cool.  Not just during October 17-23, but all of the time!  For more information on Operation Safe Driver, visit www.operationsafedriver.com

  1. October 7, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    everytime they are not making enough money on truck drivers they come up with something new in the name of safety so they can give tickets and make more money. they could care less about safety but they(DOT) use this safety as a disquise,if they did they wouldn,t make us shut our trucks off when it is over 100 degrees inside our trucks, and try to sleep.i am getting out of the business as soon as i can sell my truck, any takers

  2. Roger Osborn
    October 8, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    almost had a head-on collision last night because a 4-wheeler was driving on the wrong side of the road of a divided 4-lane highway!!!!….. then about 20- 30 miles up the road I DID see a head-on collision right after it happened!!! (2) 4-wheelers and a Big Truck.

  3. Kelly
    October 10, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Last sunday I was searched and inspected in Lordsburg, Nm. west bound. I thought it was a little over the top since he said he thought I was carrying pot because I smoke cigars. He tossed the inside of my tractor for 30 mins and then said he was calling for a dog to sniff my truck. I told him to go ahead. He then told me that if there was ever any pot smoked in the truck that the dog would alert to it. I told him that I bought the truck used and had no control over it before I got it. I know we get searched before we go onto military bases but this was borderline harassment and I’m not happy about that. Anyone that knows me would be suprised that I was able to keep my mouth shut and not tell him what I thought about what he was doing.
    This is something that makes me want to get out of this bussiness, but they will just find another way to mess with us.

  4. Jim Hudson
    October 11, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Sounds like another example of guilty until proven innocent. Apparently the Bill of Rights, in this case the 4th Amendment, is an impediment to “effective” law enforcement. Take notes, history will need a record of the rise of the Fourth Reich.

    “A government big enough to give you everything is big enough to take
    everything away.” – Thomas Jefferson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

